In Loving Memory of Emily

My beautiful cat, Emily, passed away yesterday. I wish I could tell you that she died of old age, but I can’t. She died of cancer- this stupid disease that debilitated her in less than a month and made her a shadow of her former self. Hama and I took her to the vet yesterday, so that she wouldn’t suffer anymore.

Emily

It was the hardest and most painful thing I’ve ever done in my life. But, it was also the humane thing to do. I couldn’t allow the disease to eat away at her any longer. She lost weight very fast, barely moved, didn’t eat, and developed lumps (the cancer tumors) all over her body. We spent the last weekend together, feeding her with pet syringes and bathing her with pet wash cloths. We decided to cremate her and spread her ashes somewhere- probably in Puerto Rico, since our current city is not the fondest of places for any of us.

But that is not how I want to remember her. I want to remember all the good times and all her cute mannerisms- with her little “Pom Po Pom Pon” music and her annoyed meowing when you petted her too much. She had a long happy life with us and she truly was la gata mas linda del mundo.

Emily

Emily spying something that moves

I used to wonder why Mustang (my newest cat) had arrived at my door. Now I know that God sent him my way. I mean, out of ALL the doors in my apartment complex, he chose to meow at mine and he refused to leave. I’m glad he is here. Not only does he help fill the void, but he keeps my other cat, Spooky company.

I miss her terribly. She will always have a special place in my heart.

3 thoughts on “In Loving Memory of Emily

  1. I am deeply sorry for your loss. The only consolation during this difficult time is that she isn’t suffering any more. Her memories will keep her alive in your heart.

  2. Oh what a lovely post of memory and love. We lost our beautiful Molly this year also, and your photos of Emily remind me of her! Much love to you for your loss xoxo Pen

Leave a Reply

